close menu

The Force is With Us: STAR WARS is Coming to Digital HD!


Never tell us the odds! The Star Wars series, arguably the biggest and most beloved space opera series of all time, is finally getting a Digital HD release! Heretofore, physical disc-based copies of Episodes I-VI were the only official releases provided to us by Lucasfilm. Well, as of right now, you can go to iTunes or your digital storefront of choice and pre-order Episodes I-VI.Update: Google Play is offering all six films in a bundle for only $89! What a deal! All pre-orders from whichever digital store you choose will be available for download starting at 12:01 am on Friday April 10th. Hope you didn’t plan on getting much done this weekend.

No Bothans died to bring you this information; it comes straight from Alan Bergman, the President of Walt Disney Studios:

“Since the debut of the first film nearly 40 years ago, Star Wars has become a worldwide phenomenon with legions of fans from every generation. It’s only fitting that audiences enjoy this legendary Saga and its many fascinating behind-the-scenes stories on a wide variety of platforms, and we’re very excited to finally bring all six films to Digital HD for the first time.”

This is a huge coup for our primarily digital era. With the release of the first new Star Wars film in a decade so close that you can almost taste it, the timing is riper than ever for fans to finally have the chance to carry their favorite films with them on their favorite compatible devices. Cross-country flights can now feel 100% more like the Kessel Run. Waiting rooms are now just another opportunity to mosey on over to Dagobah for a quick spiritual session with Yoda. The entire galaxy far, far away is now going to fit in your pocket!

Lucasfilm President Kathleen Kennedy also chimed in:

“We’re thrilled that fans will be able to enjoy the Star Wars Saga on their digital devices wherever they go. These films broke new ground in technology, design, sound, and visual effects, and we’ve created some very special bonus material which delves into the Saga’s rich history, including new and never-before-released conversations between legendary Star Wars artists – the masters who helped George bring his iconic universe to life.”

The movies will be available on April 10th and, again, are available for preorder now. Each film can be purchased separately or they can be purchased together as a bundle. Not ones to rest on their laurels, Disney, Lucasfilm, and 20th Century Fox are including never-before-seen special features, including Star Wars: Discoveries from Inside, and an illuminating series of Conversations between some of the filmmakers who, alongside George Lucas, brought us out-of-this-world magic.

Suddenly my 128GB phone doesn’t seem big enough.


Here’s a list of some of the special features per film so TRY TO HOLD IT TOGETHER UNTIL FRIDAY.

*Digital bonus offerings may vary by retailer           

STAR WARS EPISODE I: The Phantom Menace 

  • Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back
  • Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures
  • Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit;plus eight deleted scenes.

 STAR WARS EPISODE II:  Attack of the Clones 

  • Conversations: Sounds In Space
  • Discoveries From Inside:Costumes Revealed
  • Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

 STAR WARS EPISODE III: Revenge of the Sith 

  • Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was
  • Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers
  • Legacy content includes documentaries “Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III”; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE IV: A New Hope (20th Century Fox)

  • Conversations: Creating A Universe
  • Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber
  • Legacy content includes “Anatomy Of A Dewback”; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE V: The Empire Strikes Back 

  • Conversations: The Lost Interviews
  • Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled
  • Legacy content includes “A Conversation With The Masters” (2010); “Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk”; “George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979”; and “George Lucas On The Force: 2010”; plus six deleted scenes.

 STAR WARS EPISODE VI: Return of the Jedi 

  • Conversations: The Effects
  • Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt
  • Legacy content includes “Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi”; “Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer”; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; “It Began TV Spot”; “Climactic Chapter TV Spot”; plus five deleted scenes.

Now that you’re excited to reminisce about where we’ve been, here’s a little reminder of where we’re about to go:

No Time For Bird Sex in the MIKE TYSON MYSTERIES Trailer

No Time For Bird Sex in the MIKE TYSON MYSTERIES Trailer

TRUE DETECTIVE Season 2 Episode 1 Recap

TRUE DETECTIVE Season 2 Episode 1 Recap

Cthulhu Ski Masks Will Keep You Warm and Horrifying

Cthulhu Ski Masks Will Keep You Warm and Horrifying