close menu

Music Geek Track of the Day: Alabama Shakes’ ‘Future People’

Since rising to prominence following the 2012 release of their Grammy-nominated, debut studio album, Boys & Girls, the Athens-based Alabama Shakes have been ushering a righteous and soulful blues rock revival into the mainstream. With their sophomore album, Sound & Color, coming out in a month and a day, the band has shared a third single, the funky and freewheeling “Future People”, showcasing more of frontwoman Brittany Howard’s unreal falsetto above a root rock tapestry of varying rhythms and intensities.

Like the complexity of sound that get overshadowed by it’s own head-bobbing catchiness, the lyrics of “Future People” pack a wallop of meaning within an economy of words, with Howard singing in the chorus, “Children… gotta keep up. You got to give a little… and see it like future people.” She pleads with future generations, imploring prudent and progressive forward-thinking, and considering the long-term consequences of their actions.

“Future People” follows the howling groove of “Don’t Wanna Fight“, and the mournful, unrestrained energy of “Gimme All Your Love“, both singles released last month. The complete record, Sound & Color is due to be released everywhere April 21st, through ATO Records. The tracklist is as follows:

1. Sound and Color
2. Don’t Wanna Fight
3. Dunes
4. Future People
5. Gimme All Your Love
6. This Feeling
7. Guess Who
8. The Greatest
9. Shoegaze
10. Miss You
11. Gemini
12. Over My Head

Alabama Shakes is regularly composed of Howard on vocals and guitar, Zac Cockrell on bass, Heath Fogg on guitar and backing vocals, and Steve Johnson on drums, percussion and backing vocals.

HT: fuse

Why Isn't Cyclops Blind?

Why Isn't Cyclops Blind?

Prince's 10 Most Controversial Songs

Prince's 10 Most Controversial Songs

Jimmy Fallon and Paul Rudd Recreate Go West Video

Jimmy Fallon and Paul Rudd Recreate Go West Video