close menu

Exclusive–Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies Volume II Track List and Details Revealed

Almost two weeks ago, we reported that the second volume of Scarlet Moon Records’ Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies series was on the way. Today, we’ve gotten our hands on the launch trailer for you and are here to reveal a few more tidbits about the album–which is available for purchase today on LOUDR and other digital retailers.

As we previously mentioned, Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies Volume II is a follow-up to last year’s critically acclaimed gaming lullaby compilation from 2014. The tunes are performed by Metal Gear Solid saxophonist Norihiko Hibino and pianist Ayaki’s musical group Gentle Love which formed back in 2011 after the great earthquake and tsunami hit Japan.


On deciding to tackle the second album, Scarlet Moon Records Producer Jayson Napolitano reflected, “I just had to create a second volume! There were just too many tracks I still wanted to hear from Gentle Love.” he continued “In my notes to Hibino-san, I described the peaceful town of elves from Final Fantasy IV, the heaviness and melancholy of the call of the giants from Majora’s Mask, and the majesty of outer space and the universal love people have for ‘The Moon’ from DuckTales. They were able to capture the essense of each track while still adhering to the goal of inducing relaxation and sleep. Given the curve balls I threw them, I couldn’t be more impressed with the result. I hope listeners are too.”

While last year’s album featured lullaby versions of themes from the likes of Castlevania, Demon’s Souls and Mario 64, the sequel includes soothing renditions of songs from Skyrim, Ducktales, Majora’s Mask and more. After a couple of days of reveals on the album’s official website, we finally have the complete tracklist! Check it out below.

01: “Kids Run Through the City Corner” from Final Fantasy VI
(composed by Nobuo Uematsu)

02: “Troian Beauty” from Final Fantasy IV
(composed by Nobuo Uematsu)

03: “The Streets of Whiterun” from The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
(composed by Jeremy Soule)

04: “The One Who Is Torn” Apart from Xenogears
(composed by Yasunori Mitsuda)

05: “Courage Under Fire” from Shovel Knight
(composed by Jake Kaufman)

06: “The Moon” from DuckTales
(composed by Hiroshige Tonomura)

07: “Scattering Blossoms” from Chrono Trigger
(composed by Tsuyoshi Sekito)

08: “Oath to Order” from The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask
(composed by Koji Kondo)

09: “Snake Eater” from Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
(composed by Norihiko Hibino)

10: “Close Up”, which is an original compilation from Group Love

Also, if you pick up both volumes on LOUDR together, Scarlet Moon Productions reveals that you’ll also be able to get your hands on the Gentle Love single “Gentle Oblivion” from Monarch: Heroes of a New Age Arrangements & Variations for free.

So what did you think of the selections? Are you getting sleepy yet? Let us know in the comments below.

Features image courtesy of DeviantArt // Canadarocker


How Fast Were Dany's Dragons in Last Week's GAME OF THRONES?

How Fast Were Dany's Dragons in Last Week's GAME OF THRONES?

Die Antwoord’s “Ugly Boy” Video Features Jack Black, Flea, and Marilyn …

Die Antwoord’s “Ugly Boy” Video Features Jack Black, Flea, and Marilyn …

How Dustin Saved the World on STRANGER THINGS

How Dustin Saved the World on STRANGER THINGS